My Pakalana Lei; A Story Of A Granddaughters Love

Posted on Updated on

My sweet friend Luana shares a beautiful story of her family’s rare Pakalana plant.

“My Pakalana Lei: The mother plant is about 50 years old. It started from my Tutu’s plant, growing in the heart of Kalihi. My tutu Elena Kapahua Solomon was known for the beautiful leis and boutonnieres made from the Pakalana. Cuttings were given to her children and grandchildren when they moved into their new homes.

Today, my tutu’s pakalana plant grows in Ewa. From the month of May to September the Ko`olau wind blows the wonderful scent of the Pakalana through my garden and into my home. I think of my tutu whenever I go out into my yard to pick the flowers and while sewing each strand. Mahalo Tutu, I Love You.”

 Hawaiian Word Translation

  • Pakalana – Despite its Hawaiian name of pakalana, this is not a Hawaiian plant. It is also called Chinese violet, but it isn’t a violet, either. Its fragrance is similar, though. Pakalana is grown for its fragrant flowers.
  • Tutu – Grandmother
  • Ko`olauKoʻolau Range is a name given to the fragmented remnant of the eastern or windward shield volcano of the Hawaiian island of Oahu.
  • Kalihi – A thriving neighborhood community of Honolulu on the island of Oʻahu in Hawaii, United States.
  • Ewa – Is a place located in the ʻEwa District and the City & County of Honolulu on the leeward side of Oahu, 20 miles from downtown Honolulu.
  • Mahalo – Hawaiian word used when thanking someone.

Daily Quote:“Grandchildren are the dots that connect the lines from generation to generation.” ~ Lois Wyse


You Might Like


Enhanced by Zemanta
What Do You Think?

